Thursday, December 11, 2014


Mumbai,​10th December 2014The 16th edition of Thespo, annual drama festival for theatre-wallahs below the age of 25, will take place from 15th to 21st December 2014.Organized by QTP, under the aegis of Theatre Group Bombay, it will be taking place at the iconic Prithvi Theatreand Sitara Studio, the city’s latest indie cultural space that used to stage Marathi plays back in the 1970s. The festival is centered on the theme ‘Plug-In to the Tamasha’.

This year, at the Thespo 16 Awards Night, Theatre Group Bombaywill presentthe Lifetime Achievement Award to Joy Michael. She is the founder of Yatrik Theatre in Delhi - a bilingual repertory company that believes that the arts are a dynamic living force. Over the years they have regularly staged performances of theatre and other arts and built a dedicated audience for the same. She has been the artistic director of the group for over 40 years and has helmed over 250 plays in her lifetime.

Theatre Group Bombay has consistently believed in sharing the best of the Indian theatre world with the young theatre practitioners and audiences at Thespo and Joy Michael stands among one of the most dedicated theatre professionals. Alyque Padamsee, President of Theatre Group Bombay has had the privilege of working with Joy Michael in 1971, when he directed Medeafor Yatrik Theatre.

Joy Michael is an artist in every sense of the word. Theatre has been her life, her drive, her passion, her obsession. She studied literature at St.Stephens where she became the first woman secretary of the Shakespeare Society, then went to the London Academy of Music and Dramatic Art forprofessional theatre training. Traveled far and wide, she directed and lectured in some American Universities. She has been principal of St. Thomas’ Girls School, Delhi for about 15 years and did pioneering work in bringing about moral education and social services.

Theatre Group Bombay strongly believes that her contribution to theatre in India cannot be matched. Says Alyque Padamsee, President of Theatre Group Bombay, “Joy Michael is a giant in the world of Indian theatre. Her sterling years of service to the theatre community make her a stalwart and her dedication to the craft has been an inspiration for many.”Joy Michael has been recognized and felicitated for her outstanding contribution to theatre, which includes the Padma Shri awarded to her by the Government of India in 2012, the SangeetNatak Academy Award for Theatre Direction in 2009. She wasalso awarded the Emeritus Theatre Director by the Ministry of Culture.

With so many years of love, enthusiasm and passion for theatre, Joy Michael truly has had a lifetime of achievements. Theatre Group Bombay, Thespo and the young theatre practitioners will celebrate and honour her accomplishments at the Thespo 16 Awards Night ceremony.

For information on the complete schedule of events, ticket prices, etc., please

No comments:

Post a Comment