Wednesday, May 29, 2019






Multi-platinum, award-winning recording artist Emeli Sandé MBE releases new single Extraordinary Being taken from her stunning upcoming new album Real Life, out June 21st. The track is released in collaboration with X-Men; Dark Phoenix released June 5th.

Evoking the spirit and exuberance of the disco era, Extraordinary Being sees Emeli push her sound further than ever. Opening with sparse piano chords, the track quickly builds with propulsive drum taps and funky guitar rhythms, before delving into that disco sound with the addition of sweeping strings. All the while, Emeli delivers an incredible, soulful vocal performance.

Speaking about the meaning behind the song, Emeli said: “Extraordinary Being is about exposing the lie that we are ordinary. We are extraordinary. It is about reminding people of their innate greatness which exists in everyone. The extraordinary is not just for some people, it is for all of us. I hope the lyrics will help those lacking in confidence to be reminded of their super powers.

The accompanying music video, which was directed by Sarah McColgan sees Emeli delving into a cosmic world, interspersed with scenes taken from the film.  Emeli said about teaming up for the track,

“Fox approached me about collaborating with them on a song for X-Men: Dark Phoenix.  I already had ‘Extraordinary Being’ in the works, and when I saw the film was blown away at how the lyrics of the song matched the journey of the lead character,” Emeli said about teaming up for the collaboration,“It really felt like the perfect fit!”

Extraordinary Being is the latest song to be taken from Real Life, an album recorded following an intense personal journey of self-doubt and self-discovery that marks a brand-new chapter and with it a bold, confident and fearless new sound. It’s an album emblematic of an artist emerging from that period defiant and powerful. Feeling attuned with the disenfranchised state of the world, the vision for Real Life is to give people hope and confidence.

With over 340 million video views, 19 million singles sold including 3 number one UK singles and over 6 million albums, Emeli Sandé has dominated the music industry and captured the heart of the Nation. Her debut album Our Version of Events, released in 2012, was the biggest selling album of that year and the second biggest of 2013. The album also broke the chart record for the most consecutive weeks inside the Top 10, breaking the 50-year record previously held by The Beatles. The singer has won numerous accolades including 4 x Brit Awards (Critics Choice, Best Album and Female Solo twice, most recently in 2017 for her second album, Long Live the Angels) and in 2018 was awarded an MBE for services to Music.

Real Life album is available to pre-order here
Full Album tracklisting
1.      Human
1.      Love To Help
2.      You Are Not Alone
3.      Shine
4.      Sparrow
5.      Honest
6.      Survivor
7.      Extraordinary Being
8.      Same Old Feeling
9.      Real Life
10.  Free As A Bird

X-Men: Dark Phoenix is the story of one of the X-Men’s most beloved characters, Jean Grey, as she evolves into the iconic DARK PHOENIX. During a life-threatening rescue mission in space, Jean is hit by a cosmic force that transforms her into one of the most powerful mutants of all. Wrestling with this increasingly unstable power as well as her own personal demons, Jean spirals out of control, tearing the X-Men family apart and threatening to destroy the very fabric of our planet. The film is the most intense and emotional X-Men movie ever made. It is the culmination of 20 years of X-Men movies, as the family of mutants that we've come to know and love must face their most devastating enemy yet -- one of their own.

No comments:

Post a Comment